RSS Feed

Interesting Bedfellows

Trust me, she’s cute.

From my experience, too many adults are just teenagers with intent. Given how I feel about teenagers, it goes without question, then, that too many adults aren’t worth knowing beyond a superficial/networking level. Which is why I’ve grown to treasure the blogosphere: grownups live here. The maturity mileage varies, sure, but at least the thinking mind is respected. I don’t pretend to be an intellectual, but I am a junkie for the written word (I imagine write, write, read is the literary equivalent of puff, puff, give), and my fellow bloggers appreciate this fix better than most in reality.

Which brings me to yesterday, when I met a fellow blogger (and her delightful pooch, Dave) in said reality. (Dry your eyes, Le Clown.) She writes under the name Lynn on 56 Men and Other Mistakes, and we had a lunch date at Eat Chow in Orange County. The food was good, but I enjoyed the company much more. Lynn is a lovely lady, as straightforward in person as she is in her writing, and it was very refreshing to meet an adult-flavored adult. Whether or not she ends up in my proverbial lifeboat has yet to be determined (although it would be good sailing, as we could tie all of her conquests together into a man-yacht), but it warms my heart knowing I’m making genuine friendships here.

Who knew ranting about bacon and boobs could make a gal so popular?

Cashew Butter Cookies

Reason number 119 to meet me in person.

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup cashew butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350˚. In a stand mixer, mix butter, cashew butter and sugars until well blended. Mix in egg and vanilla. Add dry ingredients and mix, just until blended. Drop batter by spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet and press a crisscross into tops using a fork dipped in sugar (like you would for peanut butter cookies). Bake for 8 minutes. Allow to cool slightly before moving to a cooling rack. These are a bit sweeter and less salty than peanut butter cookies. You could substitute any type of nut butter (I so want to make a reference to Lynn here) for the cashew butter and still get a great tasting end result. 

One day I’m going to travel the world and cash in on all of my digital connections. Everyone owes me a dinner and a night’s lodging. What do you get in return? Both the value of my company and the adorability of my face. What’s that? No, I would hate to see your bungee cord collection.

TWTG says, “There’s a whole little cluster of some fucked-up shit going on there.”

15 responses »

  1. I feel like you just patted me on the back for not saying “poopy.”

    Reply
  2. TWTG,
    My make-up is intact, thank you.
    Le Clown

    Reply
  3. well if you ever make it to the Glorious South, I will bring the bacon and you bring the boobs, Lynn’s blog is hilarious, not surprised you too get along.

    Reply
  4. i’m glad that at least one of these women who write about their “adventures” is a real woman. i always suspect they’re guys who enjoy writing like that. i “know” about women who have blogs that are kind of like sexual diaries. i can only think of three who actually post enough pictures of herself that i can tell she’s actually female. the others – i can never be sure – and i hate to say that because i feel like i’m insulting them, but it’s a fact that there are many guys who get off on writing like that.

    Reply
  5. Glad you had a nice catch-up – that cookie recipe looks yummy!

    Reply
  6. I enjoy reading your blog and have nominated you for the “One Lovely Blogger Award”. http://astimegoesbuy.me/2012/07/26/one-lovely-blogger-an-award/
    Thank you for being fabulous!
    Cheers,
    Laura

    Reply
  7. kim, you are amazing! i had such a good time that day as well. i tend to think your adventures might be better than my own.

    we need to meet up again sometime so that i can not eat some of your exotic food. will you make plain popcorn for me? just salt and butter?

    you ROCK THE FUCKING HOUSE and got me to eat a brunch item that i normally wouldn’t have touched.

    until next time.

    xoxoxoxoox
    lynn
    p.s. i have never seen the hat from that angle. no wonder why i like it so much.

    Reply
    • I’m thinking a BBQ in September. I’m also considering a True Blood season ender party. Not sure. But yes, let’s hang out, soon.

      I think I might be going to Chinatown soon as well. I’ll have my kids with me though.

      Thanks for all the love!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

