RSS Feed

Tango Whiskey Tango Golf

As a gal who’s made it to first base with every branch of the military, I’d have to say the best kisser is… all of you. That’s more of a backhanded compliment than it sounds, due to the lack of variety. The moves you guys put on are so similar, one has to wonder if they’re just another thing the brass drills into you at boot camp. Has this method of lip-locking been determined to yield the most strategically advantageous results? Does it provide the highest probability of a second date, or, perhaps, mitigate the risk of VD via a specific angle of entry?

I’m just asking.

I adore our few, our proud and every uniform in between, and I hope the pictures you see today prove it. I spent more time Frankensteining together that bustier than any recipe I’ve divined as a culinary prodigy, or any funny bone I’ve tickled as a Bachelor of Arts-wielding wordsmith. I wanted to give our boys something special on Independence Day, and they told me exactly what they wanted: knockers for the troops. As an antidote to the huh? face you’re making right now, I’ve touched on the bizarro shit people are looking for when they stumble upon my blog (“goofy please don’t holocaust” is my current favorite), and “knockers for the troops” has been one of the most searched terms in the last month. Why ignore the fans? Like I teach my kids, you should always give into peer pressure, and here’s a slideshow of momma doing just that:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you for your service, gentleman. For the rest of you, I impart this palate-melting burger to make you salivate just as deeply:

Firecracker Sliders

  • 1 3/4 lb ground beef
  • 1 lb bacon
  • 1/2 cup canned jalapenos
  • 2 tbsp minced dried onions
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp Cholula or other hot sauce
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper
  • salt and pepper
  • jalapeno cheddar or pepper jack cheese
  • slider buns
  • sliced tomato
  • avocado
  • ketchup (I prefer Sir Kensington’s)

Place ground beef in a large bowl. Add bacon and jalapenos to food processor, and pulse until finely minced. Mix bacon, jalapenos, onions, Worcestershire, Cholula, red pepper, salt and pepper with ground beef. Allow to marinate for 20–30 minutes. Form into 1/2 inch patties and grill until desired doneness. Top with slices of cheese and build sliders with tomato, avocado and ketchup.

I’ve spoken about the men in my family—and their contributions to this great nation—so the love I have for our military operates on a genetic level. If the same isn’t true for you, however, it’s still good taste to go the extra mile when you can. Never mind what you think about our government, or the baby talk that passes for our national voice, if you see someone that’s served, give them a kiss from yours truly. Even if that kiss ends up being standard issue.

TWTG says, “We have to wash the China off of it.”

20 responses »

  1. Kim,
    Somewhere in the US, an American is thanking you… Then another, and another, and…
    Le Clown

    Reply
  2. God Bless America! 😉

    Reply
  3. god bless the white trash gourmet,u are one in a million

    Reply
  4. Just thought I’d say, that I love your humorous, non-pretentious take on food-blogging! I’m gonna have to try this recipe out on the hubby.

    Reply
  5. Loving the outfit – thanks for sharing! Have a Great Day!

    Reply
  6. Dear TWTG,
    I doubt anyone is paying attention to those firecracker sliders in lieu of your own firecrackers. You got it goin on girl!
    Happy late 4th,
    GG

    Reply
  7. Pingback: The Science Of Vegans And Clowns « The White Trash Gourmet

  8. Hey, 5 days later I just realized you put words on this blog post too.

    Reply
  9. Boobilicious & cute again!!! 🙂

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Labia Is A Funny Word « The White Trash Gourmet

Leave a Reply

