RSS Feed

It’s A Major Award!

The soft glow of electric sex.

Competitive as I am, I’ve never actually won an award. I did a year of softball, as well as a year of soccer, but I sucked at both and they happened well before America celebrated mediocrity (by giving trophies to every child just for trying). The closest I’ve come to winning anything was my third grade spelling bee, and, even then, I only placed. So imagine my splendor when I learned that I had been nominated for not one, but three blog-related awards by my adorably Irish blogging buddy, Conor Bofin, at One Man’s Meat. I’m up for the Sunshine Award, the Versatile Blogger Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Okay, “up for” is a stretch. As I understand it, bloggers hand these out to each other like candy. There is no ceremony, and the very act of being nominated means the award is mine (there is no direct competition).

Still, this feels incredible. We all seek validation—Facebook would go bankrupt if this weren’t true—and while I’m likely reading too much into it, I’m beyond flattered for these small acknowledgements. Thank you, thank you, and… oh, yes, thank you ever so much! If my meandering bullshit has ever helped inspire you, take comfort in knowing that you have helped inspire me, as well. I now firmly believe that when I ultimately use this blog to turn a profit, you will happily give me all your money. So, again, thank you. I deserve this. Below are some questionnaires I had to fill out to be eligible for the aforementioned trio of awarding goodness. If nothing else, it will serve as a fine replacement for whichever recipe I won’t be posting today.

The Sunshine Award

  • Favorite color: Red.
  • Favorite animal: Tiger. Tigers really are bitchin’.
  • Favorite number: 7,976,328,076!
  • Favorite nonalcoholic drink: Diet Coke (terrible, I know).
  • Facebook or Twitter: Facebook. I only do Twitter because I think I need to.
  • My passions: My kids, my family, my honey, cooking, reading and yoga.
  • Getting or giving presents: Oh, I love presents (P.O. Box 1000, Carlsbad, CA 92018).
  • Favorite pattern: Is sparkle a pattern?
  • Favorite day of week: Saturday and Sunday. I just like the weekend, which is so very rare in a person, right?
  • Favorite flower: Today it’s daffodils, but roses, dahlias and gerber daisies are grand.

The next step is to nominate ten fellow bloggers for this award. And the nominees are…

  1. Going Dutch
  2. Domestic Diva, MD
  3. 56 Men and Other Mistakes
  4. Mama Miyuki Easy Pantsy
  5. Sweetandweak
  6. The Kitchen Chaotic
  7. Grazing in the City
  8. Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide
  9. Rantings of an Amateur Chef
  10. The Blissful Adventurer

These are the people that have (figuratively) touched me in one way or another. Some new to the scene, some old hats, but each and every one is a blog I keep up with. Now onto the next two trophies (that oddly share one set of rules).

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award and the Versatile Blogger Award

THERE ARE 4 RULES TO FOLLOW

#1 Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post

Again, I’m thanking Conor, as he nominated me for all three awards. Pretty sure it’s because I’m not afraid to cook game.

#2 Share 7 things aboutyourself

  1. I am the eldest of 4 siblings; girl, girl, boy, boy.
  2. I memorize lyrics to songs effortlessly.
  3. Growing up, I didn’t like lima bean or green bell peppers. I still rarely use green bell peppers and lima beans are so 70s.
  4. I’m happier at 40 than I was at 20.
  5. I adore babies. I started mothering any infant I could when I was 8-years-old.
  6. I know far too much about horoscopes—although I never made an effort to learn about them.
  7. My family used to call me Twinkle Toes because I walked on my tiptoes all the time.

#3 Pass the award(s) onto 15 Bloggers you enjoy

I will be reusing some of the peeps I mentioned above.

  1. Eggton
  2. Domestic Diva, MD
  3. 56 Men and Other Mistakes
  4. Fun-Sized
  5. Sweetandweak
  6. The Kitchen Chaotic
  7. Grazing in the City
  8. Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide
  9. Rantings of an Amateur Chef
  10. The Blissful Adventurer
  11. Front Row Eats
  12. TwoGoodEggs
  13. Live, Nerd, Repeat
  14. Only Partly Erotic
  15. terriblytorn

#4. Contact the bloggers you have chosen and let them know that they have been nominated!

I’ll be getting to this soon, and not my version of soon. Like a normal person’s.

Since the theme of this entry is giving back to the (virtual) community, I’ve launched a new feature to help me do just that. You may have noticed the “Order Up” at the top of my blog now. Click it (or click here). I won’t spoil what it’s about—I’d rather have the extra hits—sufficed to say that it allows for a more open dialogue with yours truly, will give you a chance to pick my brain and may even let you put me in my proverbial place. It may not be a permanent thing, but I seem to have generated enough interest to start testing the waters.

TWTG says, “You can’t make it with stupid (sic) your kind of cereal!”

24 responses »

  1. loved this one, totally u, nail on the head?! Made me smile on this crappy day I had today. Thanks for being a friend and listening to me always! Xoxo

    Reply
  2. YES!!!! It’s the world-famous Fragilé Leg-Lamp!!

    Reply
  3. Good one girl. The lamp is outrageous.
    Conor

    Reply
  4. Kim,
    I am so pleased you chose to select me here. I have the versatile blogger on file so a second nomination is awesome! Very inspiring I can check as well (which to receive twice is indeed very inspiring) and now for a little sunshine!? You are awesome and you can sit on my couch anytime 🙂
    Seriously thank you and my apologies if I am delayed in getting this out with my other little pieces in queue. Congrats to you and let’s taunt Conor a little just because he is Irish and I want to go there 🙂

    Reply
    • You’ve been to Ireland, right? Even I’ve been to Ireland and I never go anywhere. I’m on board to taunt Conor. Don’t you think he should visit the States? I mean CA to CO isn’t very far and we could all just meet in Las Vegas. There’s plenty of food to peruse there. In fact that’s brilliant. I’m sure there’s already a blogging convention. It better be in f’n Vegas though. If not I’ll just go to the Adult Entertainment Expo, because that my friend would be something. See now I’m totally off topic. I’m such a spaz!

      Anyway yes, a trip to Ireland is in order. Better get back to making some money 🙂

      Reply
  5. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

    i have to figure out how to put these awards into my blog. i’m a total dolt when it comes to this shit. that’s why my blog is so boring and pedestrian.

    but THANK YOU. it feels very validating that you are an avid reader. i appreciate it so much and all your comments. and i love reading your blog. it’s hilarious and makes me jealous! actually i think i’m going to start hating you, which is the biggest compliment one woman can give to another.
    xoxox

    Reply
    • LOL – That is a huge compliment but maybe I’m jealous of you too. If I hadn’t had my litter of puppies I’d probably be a lot more like you today. Funny how our life choices take us down different paths. 🙂

      Reply
      • hi there, i’m so behind in everything… i haven’t even been able to think about this whole award thing. LOSER. (and yet a winner of an award. dichotomy). it is funny how our lives take us down different paths. thinking about it just reminds me that i need another musso & franks martini, which i had two of this weekend, thank you very much. can’t wait to catch up on your posts. doing so now. xo

      • There’s absolutely no pressure to do ANYTHING – I fall into dark holes all the time. I’d stay there if I didn’t have my kids that needed to be fed and clothed.

  6. “Taunt Conor!” after my handing out the awards. I am shocked. I can see what you are saying over here too! Plotting a food/adult entertainment trip to Vagas without me? I think not. Get the dates organised (organized) and lets hook up. Kim, bring the lamp.
    Best,
    Conor

    Reply
    • We were planning on having you come along! Vegas is only a 4-5 hour drive or 45 min flight for me so I’m flexible. You need to tell us when you plan on visiting Les Etats-Unis. Start at the California coast and drive to the Colorado Rockies – that would be a really fun trip 🙂

      Reply
  7. You’ve totaly made it..you should start charging because you’re so inspiring, versitle and a lovely ray of sunshine. By the way Tigers rock!…the only thing that could rock more is a liger and those are hard to find.
    Thank you for putting me your list too!!!

    Reply
  8. Thank you so very much for the nominations!!!

    Reply
  9. Wow, what a nice thing to wake up to! Thanks for passing these along and congrats to you too. Well-deserved!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Famous Again « The White Trash Gourmet

Leave a Reply

