RSS Feed

Seeing Stars

Like a centaur, but is a goat-fish.

When it comes to the Zodiac, I believe in it and I don’t. Do I think the stars are clusters of celestial co-conspirators that smile on the benevolent and punish the meanie-bo-beanies of the world? Not in the slightest, but that doesn’t stop me from having my horoscope texted to me on a daily basis (and taking it with more than a grain of salt). As has been documented (in tears of blood) in my previous posts, my 40th was last week, and that makes yours truly a Capricorn.

And what is a Capricorn? You’re looking at her.

Our motto is “I attain.” We are the mountain-movers, our lives punctuated by a travelogue of success-related goodness. We are driven, absolutely, it’s just a damn shame we can’t actually plan. Scatterbrained would be a nice 14-letter descriptor. Couple that we a need to conquer (look at me, world, everything I do is worth mentioning!) and a Capricorn’s grand schemes are the ghost stories you tell your kids to keep them on the straight and on the narrow.

So, while I might not believe in cosmic fortune cookies, I also have been unable to break the mold. I am driven, absolutely, but that’s just the beginning. You must also know of my drive, celebrate it and submit your praise in writing. It’s not enough that I win, you must also lose (look at this Bejeweled score, bitches). What does any of this have to do with foodie/trashy goodness? I dunno, I didn’t plan that far ahead. I’m a Capricorn. How about a dish emblematic of that fact? I sutured it together from whatever was left in my kitchen after weeks of too many holidays. Cohesive deliciousness from random-ass chaos? Me, in a nutshell.

Eggscellent. Yup, I just did that to you.

Cleans The Fridge Frittata 

Serves 4

  • 6 slices bacon
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 yellow summer squash, chopped
  • 1 tsp chili oil
  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (of your choosing)
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350˚. Fry bacon in cast iron skillet. Remove to paper towel-lined plate to drain. Drain all but about 1 tablespoon of the bacon grease from the pan. Add garlic, chili oil and chopped veggies to pan. Saute until zucchini and squash are soft. Crumble bacon into pan and toss with veggies. Remove pan from heat. Whisk eggs together with 1/4 cup milk. Salt and pepper to taste. Pour egg mixture over veggies and bacon. Sprinkle cheese on top. Place cast iron skillet in oven at 350˚ for 10-15 minutes until center is set. Cut into quarters and serve.

This started out as “hey, honey, I’m gonna fry up some bacon and scrambled eggs for dinner,” then I saw some pretty sorry-looking vegetables in the crisper. I hate waste, and on a Capricorn-faithful whim, turned what would have been a plain old breakfast into an actual dinner (with vegetables and everything). Every meal should be as special as you can make it and sometimes all it takes is a little poking around the fridge. And look at that! I’m winning again. Now you just have to lose.

Leave a Reply

