RSS Feed

I Don’t Wanna

Nom nom - beefy goodness!

This post will be short and… well, its level of sweetness will be determined at a later time. Christmas is over. Hooray! As the eldest of four kids, a mother of three and a member of a Baptist family that throws shindigs with attendance that can approach triple digits, the holidays ’round these parts are anything but easy. So in an effort to reclaim simplicity (and sanity), everything I normally do here will be met with three simple words: I don’t wanna. While I could regale you with cutesy anecdotes, I don’t wanna. While I could delight you with elaborate Christmas dishes, I don’t wanna. And while I could give you the secret to life, love, the universe and all happiness… I don’t wanna. Instead, all I wanna do is reach deep into my white trash lineage and take the lazy way out:

Easy Peasy French Dips

With au jus.

Serves 6-8

One 3-4 lb beef roast

One can Campbell’s Condensed French Onion Soup

6-8 French rolls

Butter

Mayonnaise

Horseradish

Sliced Swiss cheese

Place roast in crock pot, pour can of soup over top. Cook on low 7-8 hours, high 3-4 hours. Remove roast, slice thinly or shred. Cut rolls open lengthwise and butter each side. Broil until toasted. Mix mayonnaise and horseradish to taste and spread on toasted rolls. Top with meat and swiss cheese and return to broiler until cheese is melted. Serve with liquid from crock pot as au jus. So simple even an overworked burnout like myself can do it.

For kicks I took the left over sandwich makings tonight and turned it into Philly Cheesesteaks. I just sauteed up some onions and peppers, added the beef and swiss cheese and stirred it until it was a mess of melty goodness. I put it on toasted, buttered French rolls and called it dinner.

I hope to catch up on my sleep this week and give you a glorious post on Friday, but right now, I don’t wanna.

5 responses »

  1. … but you gotta keep feeding me with some whitetrash recipes….you gotta keep writing some interesting whitetrash articles…..you gotta send me some humor every week…..and you absolutely gotta get some sleep so you are ready for some more whitetrash! zzzzzzzzzzz

    Reply
    • But I don’t wanna – however I must say I am constantly doing things that I don’t wanna do. Like getting up in the morning, showering, buying gas, grocery shopping. If I didn’t do these things I’d be a broke-ass, no car having, smelly mess. But I bet I’d be thin due to the lack of nourishment, so there’s always a flip-side.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Out With The Old «

Leave a Reply

