RSS Feed

Sweet Stuff

Christopher's Birthday Cake!

When it comes to sweets, my boyfriend says I have a child’s palette. Never mind my knowledge of fine wines, my appreciation of stinky cheeses or my understanding of how to marry both, when it comes to dessert, he tells me I might as well have ordered the kid’s meal, complete with chicken fingers, apple slices (even though I asked for fries, wah!) and a cup of milk. I have two thoughts on the subject. One, shut-up Russell. Two, maybe he has a point. In my world, no sugar is too sweet, no chocolate too rich. The heavier the cream? The heavier the awesome! And absolutely everything is made better with peanut butter. Elvis agrees with me on that last point and who are you to argue The King?

In fact, I’m about to launch into something of a peanut butter rant, but first a little disclaimer: I am an empathetic person and don’t wish to sound insensitive toward anyone with a preexisting condition, so if you have a peanut allergy (or some approximation) this post is not for you. Seriously. I don’t want to make you cry for how you are missing Heaven on Earth, nor would I want to be responsible for you getting all anaphylactic and dying. For everyone else, however, if you don’t like peanut butter, I don’t wanna know you. I’m a happy-go-lucky gal and very tolerant, but of my few deal-breakers, peanut butter is numero uno. You might argue it’s a difference of opinion and you’d be right. The difference is your opinion is wrong for hating on peanut butter.

My family is known for the peanut butter popsicle; a giant spoon of peanut butter that you eat leisurely while watching your favorite TV program. This has literally been passed down through three generations. And I’ve rarely had a bowl of plain vanilla ice cream, because why eat that when you can add a big glob of peanut butter? I’m not just passionate about this, but also a snob. I don’t buy anything but all natural, preferably chunky. There’s no reason that extra oils and sugar need to be added to make peanut buttery goodness. Peanuts have plenty of oil all by themselves and they only need to be ground up with some magic (salt) and they are good to go. Companies that sell you peanut butter with additives are just cutting their costs at the cost of good taste.

Okay, I think I’ve made my point (for now). To celebrate Christopher’s Birthday (which happens to be today) he requested Devil’s Food cake. I cheated and used the recipe in my handy-dandy Pillsbury Cookbook (click here to see it). When it came to the frosting, however, what are the odds it was centered around peanut butter? If you guessed 100%, gold star.

Doesn’t This Taste Like Butterfingers? Frosting

Frosts 1 cake

1 brick cream cheese (8 oz), softened

2/3 cup peanut butter

3 cups powdered sugar

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

3 tbsp cream (more or less)

Mini peanut butter cups – available at Trader Joe’s and Sprouts

Add all ingredients, except cream, to mixer. Start on very low speed or you will be covered in powdered sugar. Once ingredients come together, mix on medium speed for about 2 minutes until smooth. Continue mixing, adding cream one tablespoon at a time until frosting is of spreading consistency. Frost cake and sprinkle top with peanut butter cups. If you can’t get your hands on the mini ones you could use chopped Reese’s Cups, Butterfingers, salted peanuts, peanut butter chips, chocolate chips, etc.. Don’t be afraid to be creative.

Did this post sound surly? It wasn’t. And so the fine people at Pillsbury don’t sue us:

“Delicious Devil’s Food Cake” The Pillsbury Cookbook Ed. Diane B. Anderson. New York: Doubleday, 1989. 91.

4 responses »

  1. You won’t boot from this blog tonight! I love PB and kid, or no kid, that is my vice. And the King was right, eat a lot of sweets and you will turn into a big hunk o’ love (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Big_Hunk_o%27_Love)

    Save me a slice…..for Billy the Kid.

    Reply
  2. Yes, please!!!!!! Nothing better than a big spoonful of peanut butter (& yes, I double dip!)!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: ReKimmendations «

  4. Pingback: ReKimmendations «

Leave a Reply

