RSS Feed

Half-Assed Xmas

It dawned on me today that we’re more than halfway through the month of December and I’ve yet to mention the C word here. (I’m talking about Christmas, you dirty birds.) That’s about par for course, as I’m equally on top of my other holiday obligations. I titled this entry Half-Assed Xmas and for good reason. My tree is half decorated and half falling over. My house is half clean, for my son’s birthday party that is half planned. My shopping is half done, for about half the people I need to buy gifts for (and I only half care that this sentence ended with a preposition). I think I need some half and half for my White Russian, to keep me half-cocked.

Sigh. Not one present is wrapped and I’ve yet to share any baked goods with anyone. So who likes cookies? I can at least be a complete ass by getting my bake on and making everyone a wee bit fatter. And lacier. Hence:

Fat & Lacy Oatmeal Cookies

1/2 lb butter (2 sticks)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup molasses

The stuffs.

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups oats

1 cup coconut

1/2 raisins

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350˚. Cream butter and sugars, including molasses. Add eggs one at a time and mix well after each addition. Add vanilla and mix. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a separate bowl. Add to mixer and blend just until incorporated. Do not over mix. Fold in oatmeal, coconut, raisins and dried cranberries.

Oh, you know it's hot!

Drop cookies by spoonful onto parchment paper or Silpat-lined cookie sheet. I only bake 6 at a time because they spread out A LOT! Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until center looks almost done. Cookies will continue to cook once you remove them from the oven. Allow them to cool on cookie sheet for 3 to 4 minutes and then remove to cooling rack.

These are very chewy and candy-like cookies, mostly due to the butter/flour ratio. Great for sharing or eating in bed as you cry into your Irish coffee over the stress of making everyone else happy. A little traditional holiday goodness from a very untraditional gal. Half yourself a merry little Christmas (see what I did there?).

3 responses »

  1. Intelligent Investor

    White Trash – those cookies look half-way good and I bet you ate half of em already. Have a great weekend !

    Reply
  2. Looks like yummy, gooey, goodness!!!!

    Can we get a pic of the tilted tree???

    Reply
  3. Pingback: ReKimmendations «

Leave a Reply

