RSS Feed

Sunday Morning

You know how you wake up on Sunday and just want to lie around and do a whole lotta nothing? But then you realize that you need to eat? This morning I laid in bed thinking while French Toast would be nice, stuffed French Toast would be even nicer, so down to the fridge I went. Bread, eggs, milk and butter – check! Now that I have this new blog (duh, why else would you be here?), writing down a recipe is suddenly important. I want y’all to be able to taste the goodness too, so here’s what I came up with based on what I had in the pantry.

Nutella French Toast

Nutella French Toast

Serves 4

8 slices bread – I used Sara Lee Whole Grain White but any soft bread would work

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp vegetable oil

3 eggs

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cocoa powder

pinch of salt

1/2 tbsp cinnamon sugar (I have this in a shaker for cinnamon toast – it’s about 1/2 cup sugar to 1 tbsp cinnamon)

Nutella

Spread the Nutella on a slice of bread and top with a second slice. Whisk together the eggs, vanilla, cocoa powder, salt and cinnamon sugar in a shallow bowl. Heat frying pan on medium high. Add butter and oil. Place the Nutella sandwich in the egg mixture turning once and add to frying pan – I use a large flat pan so I can cook all of the French toast at once. Cook until golden brown and flip to cook the other side. Place on plate and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Russell (aka A Boy Named Sous – more on this later) and I ate this for breakfast this morning. It didn’t need any syrup and was chocolaty, breakfasty goodness. Perfect with a cup of coffee. I’m going to try it out on the kids next weekend. I think sliced bananas would be a great addition (inside the sandwich), I’ll have to let you know.

There’s my first recipe. And so it begins…

9 responses »

  1. Yum-e….will give this awesome white trash recipe a try…

    Reply
  2. Intelligent Investor

    Nice first post. Sounds tasty. Can’t wait for more white trash ! Intelligent Investor

    Reply
  3. Sounds yummy! My kiddos love Nutella on just about anything. It actualy is good on apples too like peanut butter!

    Reply
    • I fell in love with it in Europe a million years ago. I like it on toast and graham crackers. My friend suggested adding bacon between the bread for the french toast. Since bacon is divine I’m totally going to try it.

      Reply
  4. All that’s missing is the aroma of menthols!

    Reply
  5. I made this for Brinner (Breakfast for dinner) last night with the addition of bananas. Delightful. I also didn’t have enough Nutella to go round so I made a few substituting peanut butter and topping with maple syrup. Worked wonderfully!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

